Topic: We built a LeMons-grade fuel injector tester/cleaner

I'm normally not the build journal / photo documentation type, but I thought this project was cool enough to share.  It started as the subject of a random conversation between one of my Lemons teammates and I.  Something like: "Hey, wouldn't it be cool if we could test and clean fuel injectors outside of a car?"  He's an electrical engineer, and I'm a computer engineer, so we made a deal: if he gave me a driver circuit and built the test stand, I would program a microcontroller and build a board to make it all work.  Well, after an order from Digi-key, a couple nights of programming, an afternoon of soldering, and a trip to the junkyard, here it is:

http://i44.tinypic.com/346lqmh.jpg

The fuel rail is from a later Quad 4 (Sunfire GT, I think).  We were dumb and used a fuel pump from a TBI Chevy truck, so it only made 1 bar (14.5psi), but that was good enough for a trial run.

The board is hiding behind the battery in the picture above; here's a close up shot.  It's basically a 5v power supply, a FET driver circuit, and a PIC18F microcontroller I programmed in C.  I scavenged a 0-7 binary switch from an old SCSI CD-ROM drive and am using that to select test routines on the microcontroller.  It has a couple cleaning and flow testing modes, can ramp frequency and duty cycle up and down, etc.  One mode simulates a 15-second quarter mile pass through three gears, which is fun to watch smile  Maybe manual control knobs and an LCD display will be in version 2.0.

http://i40.tinypic.com/4tvjog.jpg