Topic: Professionals in Lemons

I have been hearing stories of professional drivers like Randy Probst and Tommy Kendall in Lemons for a while.
Kinda curious how many professional race mechanics or pro race teams are out there.
Im a professional cheater in Trans Am TA2 and figured there has got to be others that like working on crapcans outside of "real" racecars.

Also how much Lemons technology makes it backwards to work cars?? Lol

Pic for relevance

http://i.imgur.com/DN2wssO.jpg

Re: Professionals in Lemons

IMO, your question is definitely more relevant than a census of how many pro drivers there are slumming in our area of amatuer motorsports.

For Lemons racing, I'd speculate that having a professional mechanic is more valuable for a team than a professional driver.
After all, a Juan Pablo Montoya still needs to contend with all the non-professional driving shlubs on the track (and of course the occasional Dave Montoyas).

If I had a guess, I'd say a sizable number (if not the majority) of the teams that race in some of the biggest west coast races have at least one professional mechanic on the team - but I doubt that there are more than a handful of professional RACE mechanics that are into Lemons at all  (just because there aren't that many of you). After all, the number of people who work on cars and are actually car repair/racing enthusiasts is probably far higher than the # of people who are car repair/racing enthusiasts but also happen be dog catchers as a day job (although given the sheer # of people who have raced in Lemons, there has to be at least one).

One more Q for Lemons HQ: how many people have ever raced in Lemons?
I'm guessing that number has to be well over 100K by now.
Regards,
-g

Myopic Motorsport's #888 Ceci n'est pas une Citron Thunderbird ("This is not a lemon" but a 1995 tbird w/ 93 V8 swap + shopping cart rear wing + engine mounted frito maker)
2017 Sears Pointless Organizer’s Choice