Topic: Radios - important? Cheaper options?

I feel like radio communications would be important for an endurance race like this, but it looks like we can spend upwards of $1000 for a race radio system and helmet kits for all drivers. How important are the radios?  What options have worked well for others that won't break the bank?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Radios - important? Cheaper options?

I've been doing this since 2009 and I've used radios only a couple of times. Cowdriver bought some really nice stuff for us to use and he handled the install and managed the radio while in the pits and that one time the radio experience was actually a fun little bonus.

Please take note that I have a couple of half-time "regular" arrive-and-drives and typically 2 slow slow slow class C cars at most west coast races. Perspective may be entirely different for Class B and A cars or more competitive teams.

I bought some midland or some such radios and some cheap earbuds and mics, and they have not been very enjoyable to use. It / they became another layer of complication for my team and how I run things.

Same goes for gopros/video cameras.

If I have a team member who wants to use radios or cameras and who wants to take full responsibility for preparing them to work with each driver and in each car and who wants to manage the radio in the pits, I'm all for that and it's great. But to put that stuff on me when I'm already responsible for most everything else that has to do with the car... It doesn't work for me. The benefits aren't worth the effort/cost. I have a hard enough time just keeping the car working and on track let alone worrying about "racing" stuff.

So, with that in mind: If you are the primary car person, have another teammate handle the radio stuff if you want to go down that route.

GeeksOfTheStreets wrote:

What options have worked well for others that won't break the bank?