Topic: Wrencher in Oakland looking for Norcal team

Hello folks,
  I'm a long time fan of the Lemons programs after first reading about them when I moved out to CA.  I even attended last years "Arse-Sweat" race at Thunderhill just to see what it's really all about. I think my gf and I may have been the only people at the track not affiliated with a team, but we didn't care as it was so fun just to watch.. :-) 

I've been wrenching for almost 24 years now (30 if you count RC cars and bicycles....) and prefer to do my own work on most things when time and space allow.  My first real garage experience was when I was taking a year off from Mechanical Engineering school (I ended up in Accounting) and apprenticed at a Porsche repair shop in Massachusetts when I was 19-20. What started off as just cleaning tools and sweeping floors ended up doing oil changes and brake jobs on 911's and helping the master mechanics drop engines out of race cars.  I even got to be on the pit crew (behind the wall only) of a privateer race team at the 1998 24 hours of Daytona.  My personal objects of wrenching have been the following:

1987 Mustang LX 5.0
1985 VW GTI
1985 911
1969 Mustang
1992 Miata
1985 MR2
1986 Crown Vic
1993 Taurus SHO
1998 BMW 328i
2000 Boxster S
2000 Cherokee
2003 VW GTI
1996 911

Also, while I've never tackled anything like an engine or transmission rebuild, I'm very comfortable with maintenance, brakes, and suspension work.

While I wouldn't expect to be a driver at first, I'd ultimately like to get behind the wheel of something and as far as track experience, I've completed a 1-day Skip Barber course (open wheel cars) at Lime Rock, have done a few auto-crosses (SCCA and PCA), and one Driver's Ed event at Laguna Seca. 

Anyways, I'd love to find a team in the Bay Area (hopefully Oakland, SF or East Bay) to join and help out however possible.

Thanks,
   Peter

Re: Wrencher in Oakland looking for Norcal team