Topic: Adjustable vs non adjustable shocks

Noob here. What are your opinions on adjustable vs non. Car currently has non adjustable with clipped springs but to switch over to adjustable it would take some extensive modifications. Is the juice worth the squeeze?

Re: Adjustable vs non adjustable shocks

If you get it right the first time, no adjustment needed.

That said, doing so means knowing the damping will match the "cut springs" and the car and track conditions.  Can you do that.

Adjustable is a broad term.  Are you talking coil overs with adjustable ride height, rebound and compression damping?  If so, hugely cheaty and will be noticed.  Not saying no, just saying un less you are running something terrible, expect penalty laps.

Cheaty. And probably not worth it. Get some basic gas monotubes. You have a long way to go before shocks become a limiting factor.

Unless you're in a fox body. then find a set of shocks off an 01 Bullett Mustang.

Mistake By The Lake Racing (MBTL)
88 Thunderbird "THUNDERBIRDS ARE GO!", Ex Astris, Rubigo / Semper Fracti
A&D: 2014 Sebrings at Sebring (NSF), 2014 NJMP2 Jurassic Park (SpeedyCop), 2012 Summit Point J30 (PiNuts)
2018 Route Sucky-Suck Rally Miata, 2019 World Tour Of Texas 64 Newport

Guildenstern wrote:

Cheaty. And probably not worth it. Get some basic gas monotubes. You have a long way to go before shocks become a limiting factor..

Took us about 9 races with the van before we finally said enough is enough...when your limiting factor (besides driver talent) is the ability to put down power coming out of the corners due to wheel hop from too much spring and not enough damping...that is when you need to go cheaty on shocks.  Before that is a waste of time, money and heartache.