Topic: Looking to form a team or join one near Orange, CA

Hi all - I'm looking to get something going in the Orange or south LA area. Open to ideas on the car and build location. I recently moved here from Florida and had to leave my old team behind - I started and owned one for 4 years and then ran with a couple others as an arrive and drive for a time after that, mainly in chumpcar. For background, I'm a 32yo mechanical engineer, been working flight test for a helicopter company until recently, and have been racing dirtbikes my whole life. I love long walks on the beach and candlelit engine swaps. I'm a clean driver - never wrecked a car, gotten any black flags, or even spun in all of the 15 races I've done. Typically the fastest on the team. My wife likes to come to the races and feed people too.

Msg me if interested, or even if anyone in the area is looking for a wrench! -Jeff

Re: Looking to form a team or join one near Orange, CA

Howdy,

We're in Tustin.  Current fleet is an RX7, Sunbeam Imp and a teammates E46.  We're also friendly with a fairly newly formed team in San Clemente with a Volvo turbo (Robb) and also the madman Spank in Northern San Diego (various British piles).  Occupy Pit Road is in Costa Mesa with an Ecotech powered Miata and there are a couple other OC teams.  Oh, Bill is in Corona with the Yugo.  Chump is struggling for survival out here for reasons too long to get into but I think they have a couple teams in LA but can't think of any in OC offhand.  The Unofficial 24 Hours of Lemons group on facebook has a map showing where teams are located.  We pretty much only have have the Sears Point race left here in California but are discussing next year's races some of which are not Lemons so it would be rude to discuss them here on this forum.

1990 RX7 "Mazdarita" 
1994 Jaguar XJ12 (Winner C-Class 2013 Sears Pointless)
1964 Sunbeam Imp (IOE 2013 Sears Pointless)