Topic: Cost of competing

Hey everyone.  I'm new to this and was wondering about a few cost items for racing:

1.  Do we have to pay for our own fuel?  I'm assuming so, but wasn't completely sure since the
     rules state that we fill up at their pumps. Does $720 sound like a good fuel budget?
2.  How long do tires typically last?  I was thinking about getting 190 treadware Falkens.
3.  For the neck brace, would it be allowed if we used the proper certified neck brace, but had
     cheap little D-clips from a hardware store drilled into our helmets rather than the big round
     helmet attachments which are sold by the neck brace company?

Thanks!

Re: Cost of competing

1. Where in the rules does it say you fill up from their pumps? I believe it says you may use track provided pumps if they exist, but you certainly still pay for that. Most people bring in their own fuel in five gallon jugs.

Cost of fuel depends on your car, how much gas it uses, and how much of the weekend you are broken down.

2. The Falken Rt615 are a good tire. They can last anywhere from half a race to half a dozen races. Again depending on the car, the track surface, and your driver's.

3. No. Use the HANS hardware. Why is this even a question? This is your neck we are protecting here.

#33 Ford Festiva - We Are Not Really From Iran (Retired)
#928 Porsche 928 - West German Pushrodders (Retired)
#3 BMW E36 - The Internet says this is correct

3 (edited by Guildenstern 2017-11-27 01:05 AM)

1. last year track 93 was about $4/gallon where we were. so that much would get ya around 180 gallons. Our 5.0 V8 would do maybe 45 gallons in a weekend? (seems like something we should have tracked? Probably something we should have tracked)

2. A tip about tires, Get a GOOD ALIGNMENT. All the negative camber you can get, and minimal toe. (toe in for RWD, Out for FWD/AWD, just a scootch)