Topic: Stints - How Long?

Not a newbie here (3 races under our belts) but just a question: how long does your team run it's driver stints?  We've been doing 45 sessions, but was just curious how other teams go...

TIA.

Re: Stints - How Long?

As long as the gas lasts.  Usually around 1.5-2hr for us.

Our Lady of Perpetual Downforce
http://www.perpetualdownforce.com/

Anywhere from 45 minutes to 3 hours.  What is your goal as a team?

Want to win Class C (or B or A) in a car that is only mid pack for speed?  Stint length, strategy and fast fueling/driver change are your hot ticket/
Want to make sure everyone has fun, gets a stint before the car blows up, plenty rest for evening revelry? 1-hour'ish stints are great.
Then there is every version in between.

Have done a little over 4 hours to single stop an 8.5 hour day. it's more comfortable and less risk to stop twice most days so anywhere from 3 hrs to 3:45.
If the overall is out of reach then reduce the stints to a couple of hours each so no-one is over extended.

Apocalyptic Racing - Occupy Pit Lane racing
Racing the "Toylet" Toyota Celica powered by Chevrolet Ecotec.
24x Loser with the Celica. 16x loser in other fine machines
Overall winner Gingerman 2019

A lot depends on temperature and the endurance of each individual. A cool shirt can help you do longer stint times. But every individual reaches a point where it is harder to maintain concentration. Some people can go 2 hrs while others will start picking up black flags after 1 hr. Keep stats by driver and adjust.

We go as pong as we need to in order to minimize fuel stops in a day based on our fuel burn at that track with that setup, and the length of day.  Before the turbo on the Civic we have gone as long as 4.5 hours, usually stopping once per day. That required drinks and snacks in the car, which made a difference.  With the turbo we can’t go more than 3.5 at most, so that makes it a 2 stop day.