1 (edited by King 1 2019-10-16 09:06 AM)

Topic: Other race tracks

I'm pretty much a total noob to this whole scene so maybe this has come up before but the new 2020 schedule got me wondering.  Why aren't there more races at more tracks?  I'm up in the northwest corner, so I'm extremely pleased that The Ridge is on the list, but if I wanted to race additional races, the next nearest races to my house are in the 900+ mile range. 

Portland, OR and Seattle (Kent anyway) both have large road courses that seem like they would be suitable for Lemons.  I'm a literal outlier but looking at a map it seems like there is a large portion of the country (and lets not forget Canada) for whom Seattle or Portland would be their nearest (or second nearest) race, if those were options.

I don't mean to sound whiny.  I'm not complaining so much as curious.  Is it a matter of projected attendance?  If there were more of a demand for venues up here, would that increase the likelihood of it happening?  Are a lot of people who race at The Ridge already coming up from California?  Is PIR a bunch of turds?

Anyway, thanks for humoring me smile

2 (edited by Spank 2019-10-16 09:53 AM)

Re: Other race tracks

From my basic understanding, Jeff Glenn of HQ is the one who evaluates tracks for their viability for the unique demands that a Lemons race brings to an event. The most basic is whether or not the track is safe (which entails far more than my pea brain can comprehend beginning with the racing surface on to the proximity of emergency facilities) and whether or not the facility's infrastructure can support the number of participants.

In tandem with that is the financial viability of holding an event there.