Topic: Roll cage padding

Lemons noob here, quick question about cage padding.

Hoping that the links below work, how perfect does cage padding need to be to pass tech with reference to joints? The pic below are just extra little pieces I had from other cuts...didn't know if it all must be covered to pass or if this will fly. Drivers footwell shown...Thanks for the input!

https://i.postimg.cc/RWSmrcqz/IMG-1957.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/nh7hD2JM/IMG-1957.jpg

LS-10 Racing '98 Chevy S-10
2022 Road Atlanta: LET'S F**KING DO THIS!!!, 2021 MSR: 19/101 (5/36 B-class) overheated transmission
2021 NOLA: 21/65 (6/25 B-class) snapped upper control arm, 2020 MSR: 73/103 (27/36 B-class) blown transmission

Re: Roll cage padding

Basically you want to cover every bit of cage that any bit of your body can possibly reach.  Keep in mind that parts of you like your neck can stretch ridiculously far in a big wreck.  You want to use the high density padding (non-SFI high density is a bit cheaper) at minimum anywhere your head can hit.  This pool noodle stuff you have will pass but if you ever need to put it to use will wish you had the high density stuff.  What you have also degrades a lot faster than high density.  I don't like to leave any cage exposed to my pink little bod so at those points where the cage tubing intersects I will notch the padding for the intersecting tube so there is padding covering the intersections.  As to whether this will pass tech I suspect so but since I've never left tube exposed like that I wouldn't know.

1990 RX7 "Mazdarita"  1964 Sunbeam Imp (IOE 2013 Sears Pointless) 2002 Jaguar x-type (Winner C-Class 2021 Sears Pointless)
Gone bye-bye
1994 Jaguar XJ12 (Winner C-Class 2013 Sears Pointless)  1980 Rover SD1 (I Got Screwed 2014 Return of Lemonites)

3.E ROLLCAGE REGULATIONS - 3.E.1.c wrote:

Rollbar Padding. All roll cage tubing must be padded with high-density rollbar padding wherever a driver may contact the tube–head, knees, elbows, etc.