Topic: Tell me about the transponders...can I see our lap times live?

We are renting a transponder for Buttonwillow.

I've never used one before, so I have many noob questions:

Will we be able to see our lap times live? What web site will show the data? Do we need to create an account? Will we see the times and positions of the other cars?

Do we need to wire up power for the transponder?

EPA Racing - #40 Supercharged Dodge Caliber

Re: Tell me about the transponders...can I see our lap times live?

Welcome,noob......

Yes,you will see your times..
Download the RaceMonitor app....it's $5 for a yearly subscription..
No account needed,just tap on your car # and it will tell you where you are overall,as well as the cars in front of you and behind you,as well as the distance(time) between you..
No need to hardwire it,it comes precharged and a charge will last the weekend
Just make sure you mount it low on the car (Within 12" ) and somewhere with a clear line of sight to the ground...
Use good zipties...If you break it, you bought it..and it aint cheap

45+x Loser.....You'd think I would learn......
5x I.O.E  Winner   1 Heroic Fix Winner   1 Org Choice Winner
2x  I Got Screwed Winner    2x Class C Winner
(Still a Class B driver in a Class A car)

3 (edited by dungeonracer 2020-09-16 06:40 PM)

So on that note, and as a 1st timer, what is the best way/place to mount the transponder?
Do we need to drill a hole in the floor board to properly mount the transponder?

1991 VW Jetta #38 - cuz Whoopie Pie!

Not sure if its the same at every track. at HPR the timing loop is under the track so you want the transponder about 12 inches off the ground and on the outside of the car so there is nothing between the transponder and the ground. I put mine on the lower part of the drivers side front fender. between the wheel and the door. drilled 4 holes and ran the zip ties around.