Topic: Rickie Bobby Racing is preparing for Buttonwillow

Ok, we are resurrecting a retired SCCA fire chicken and heading out to race.  My legal name is really Bobby, and although we will not win a thing, I hope our team gets selected for the race.  The motor is a chevy 302, that runs and sounds mean, but is cracked from frozen water in the block.  If we can manage to weld the block shut, think they will slap us with penalty laps because it sounds like a race car?  I honestly picked up the whole thing and spares for way cheap, but that does not always matter.

Re: Rickie Bobby Racing is preparing for Buttonwillow

I need to make 2 posts before adding pics

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NdVd2H … p=drivesdk

4 (edited by yoursmiledoc 2023-03-25 09:35 PM)

Here is a folder with some pics

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ … aXj8Tq3t_q

I'm pretty new to this as well, but it looks like you might have trouble with that cage passing.  I'm sure it's very safe and all, but looks like there might be some violations of Lemons specific cage rules.  (Specifically the rear down bars and the harness bar) 

Might just wanna make sure you ask a judge or someone prior to paying lol. (Or whoever I'm bot sure how this works)  Or at least comb through the cage rules.

Yeah, you'll want to run this by pagel@24hoursoflemons.com  Although those downbar nodes look strong to me. I know John doesn't like downbars that don't directly land on the body.

1990 RX7 "Mazdarita"  1964 Sunbeam Imp (IOE 2013 Sears Pointless) 2002 Jaguar x-type (Winner C-Class 2021 Sears Pointless)
Gone bye-bye
1994 Jaguar XJ12 (Winner C-Class 2013 Sears Pointless)  1980 Rover SD1 (I Got Screwed 2014 Return of Lemonites)

I think you are more likely to get some penalty laps for suspension, but who cares.  Check with Pagel on the cage, make sure you follow all the other safety rules, take your laps, and have fun.  Depending on how bad you do, you will probably get A zero the next race.

Some things I noticed: