Topic: Boat/Auto trans questions...

Ok, so I'm building a boat (LS400). and Its got a dreaded auto trans with 250k miles on it. What I'm wondering is, do I need a trans cooler, or is the stock tube in the radiator cooler good enough? I have zero auto trans experience and I have a old Corolla oil cooler lying around I can use, but not sure if I need it?

Thanks..

"Don't mess with Lexas!" LS400. We survived another one! See website link for build details.
Maker of the "unofficial Lemons fish!" - If you ask nice, I'll likely give you one at the track.

Re: Boat/Auto trans questions...

yes.  you probably can't cool an auto trans enough in a Lemons race.

mike - Schumacher Taxi Service
12+-time loser
"Winner" - We Got Screwed, NJMP '11

Buzz Killington wrote:

yes.  you probably can't cool an auto trans enough in a Lemons race.

Thanks for the tip. best thing is, its a 5 minute, zero cost mod since I have an old cooler lying around.

"Don't mess with Lexas!" LS400. We survived another one! See website link for build details.
Maker of the "unofficial Lemons fish!" - If you ask nice, I'll likely give you one at the track.

You can also try and us the A/C condenser that's already on the Lexus.

Troy

#35 LRE
1973 Datsun 240Z

I've seen racers use small-car radiators as trans coolers, too. An extra electric cooling fan (easily found at the junkyard) will help. It is true that you can't over-cool an automatic transmission in a big car.