Topic: open source data aquisition/display/logging project ideas

I am daydreaming about an Arduino ( http://www.arduino.cc/  ) based open source project for collecting, displaying, and using some basic data... mostly as an excuse to buy an arduino board and get my geek on.

I have no formal training or experience on this stuff but i kind of understand what input signals are available, the data displays and logging capabilities, etc. and how that info can be useful to both driver and crew.

Project 1 will be a shift point light.  It will probably cost me over a hundred bucks in parts and dozens of labor hours to figure it out because of the learning curve.

Other projects on my daydream list include

Display via led or lcd of various inputs like temps, oil psi, etc.
Idiot lights
Data logging of temp, oil psi,
Driver inputs logging
Gps logging etc.

Thoughts, ideas, resource links would be welcome an appreciated.

ALLEGEDLY!

-Dave
Scuderia Ignorante // Modena / Dearborn / Aichi Prefecture / West Texas

Re: open source data aquisition/display/logging project ideas

Do it. Look at Maker Shed and sparkfun, they've got a ton of Arduino stuff that would be perfect for this project. Like a GPS shield...

Pat Mulry, TARP Racing #67

Mandatory disclaimer: all opinions expressed are mine alone & not those of 24HOL, its mgmt, sponsors, etc.

I'd certainly be adding an accelerometer (ADXL335) to the future plans list.  Sounds like an awesome project.

~sam

Rusty Tear Racing "Rally" Fiero
2010 Stafford 2011 Summit, Stafford 2012 Loudon, Loudon Class C Win!
2013 Monticello, Loudon, Loudon 2014 NJMP, Loudon 2015 NJMP, Thompson

IgnoranteWest wrote:

I am daydreaming about an Arduino ( http://www.arduino.cc/  ) based open source project for collecting, displaying, and using some basic data... mostly as an excuse to buy an arduino board and get my geek on.

Have you been snooping on my email?  I was just talking about this very thing to someone else.