Topic: No open sunroofs, but you can cut the roof off?

Forgive me, I'm a rookie, but am I reading correctly in the rules, that there can be no open sunroofs unless mesh (with openings of less than 1/2 inch) covers the opening?

Seems strange to have that rule, but allow the tops to be cut off MR2s and the like.

We're prepping a 1983 Porsche 944 and it would be nice to just ditch the removable sunroof, the clamps for which are pretty well shot anyway.  Anyone have suggestions on what type of mesh to use and where we can pick up something cheap like that?  Plastic landscape fencing, perhaps?

Re: No open sunroofs, but you can cut the roof off?

Yeah, doesn't seem to make much sense does it?

"Don't mess with Lexas!" LS400. We survived another one! See website link for build details.
Maker of the "unofficial Lemons fish!" - If you ask nice, I'll likely give you one at the track.

just use the 1/4" stiff wire mesh available at any home store.  Not chicken wire, not screen door scree.  It's going to keep your fingers away from the asphault and dirt and then asphault and then wall when you flip your amazing handling race car over.

Is it a glass sunroof, or a metal one? Just weld it shut...

Spinnetti wrote:

Yeah, doesn't seem to make much sense does it?

See rule 3.21 below. I suspect that the same requirement would apply to a sunroof-less hardtop.

3.21: Open T-Tops and Convertibles: Arm restraints are required when driving an open T-Top or convertible.

AppetiteforDestruction wrote:

Anyone have suggestions on what type of mesh to use and where we can pick up something cheap like that?  Plastic landscape fencing, perhaps?

Street sign smile

Fall South 09- 23rd place
Southern Discomfort '10 Magnum PU- 5th place
Spring South '10- 1st...... LOSER!

I think the original sunroof on a 944 is fiberglass.  Just make some brackets and bolt the sunroof in place.  Then add a bead of caulk to seal it.

Not all who wander are lost.