Topic: electricians....or those who play them on TV...i have a code question

I want to put a circuit breaker panel board between a pair of doors that are only 18 inches apart, can I?

imagine you are looking at a 10 wide big blank wall.

imagine a door that opens away appears in the middle of it.

now imagine that a normal household circuit break panelboard appears next to that door.

now imagine that another away opening door appears right next to the panelboard.

i have the required 30" wide / 36" deep working room, but the panel board itself only lives in a standard ~16" chase. it does not live in a 30" wide bare blank section of wall.

would this pass code?

Team OK-Speed
Regularly losing in Class A
Soon to start losing in Class C

Re: electricians....or those who play them on TV...i have a code question

I am not an electrician but my buddy is. His opinion is that it would pass code to mount the breaker box between two doors as you describe with the caveat he does not know all the code requirements for your area.

Bacon, oh bacon
Bacon, bacon, oh bacon
Love in five letters

Wait, there's building codes in Ok?

Team Lost in the Dark
Winner " I got screwed" and "Jay's dream car"
2012 Gulf region champs

4 (edited by Mulry 2013-07-02 01:23 PM)

I'm not an electrician, I don't play one on TV, but I do work with electricians, codes, and the interpretation of the latter by the former. That said, the best resource would probably be an anonymous phone call to the electrical inspector in the building inspection department for your locale, as they are the ones who really matter when it comes to getting something green-tagged. So there's your cheap advice and disclaimer.

I hate to rain on your parade, but looking at NEC Section 110.26 (http://freenec.com/T13.html) for the requirements, I think you run into trouble at  110.26(F)(1)(a):