Topic: 928 "estate" has seen better days :>(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wm1BlKelA3M

Well we finally pulled the engine from our 928 "estate" and the outlook is NOT GOOD....granted I'm no mechanic, but I would say thats just a we bit much tolerance on the #6 rod bearing....

Richard Doty
1984 Porsche 928 "Estate"
Porsche- "there is A substitute" Racing
Dirt Poorsche Racing #2

Re: 928 "estate" has seen better days :>(

Our car is still on the trailer...

Maybe next week I'll look at why the trans doesn't work.

What are you going to do?

KT

TH 2009- 40th ~ SP 2010- 13th Class Bad win!! TH 2010- 17th ~TH 2010- 16th  SP 2011- 20th ~ RF 2011- 13th Least Horrible Yank Tank ~ TH 2011- 79th
SP 2011- 105th ~ SP 2012- 119th ~ SP 2013- 139th ~ BW 2013- 17th
Follow Filthy on Facebook: Flailing Lizard Motorsports

Ahem...SBC...cough cough...Carbed...

KT

TH 2009- 40th ~ SP 2010- 13th Class Bad win!! TH 2010- 17th ~TH 2010- 16th  SP 2011- 20th ~ RF 2011- 13th Least Horrible Yank Tank ~ TH 2011- 79th

eh, resize the rods and turn the crank-- good enough for at least 1 more Lemons race. Bearings can't be THAT much for them, can they?

Ran into the same thing on a an engine 2 nights ago. It still ran great, just knocked like at anything other than idle and down to like 15psi of oil pressure.

Don't you have another engine in your sub-$500 '79 928? Problem solved!

Dude get me a 928 for $500 bucks I'll drive that shit as my daily driver. Then I can holler at the ladys from the front seat of my Porsche, cause there is no substitute.

What you should do is ask Jay for a "residual value" after completing Thunderhills. After our Jaguar's V-12 melted down at Buttonwillow Jay gave us a ZERO dollar residual value and we were able to find a decent junk yard motor for $500.

Pendejo Engineering "Captain" - 1991 Alfa 164
1983 Shaguar XJ-S V-12 "The Two Ton Miata"
1995 Mercedes S600 V-12  - First car ever CLAIMED by JAY!
1980 Maserati Quattroporte - Judge's Choice