Topic: People who track their street cars/HPDE come in here

I hate to bring this up as this discussion tends to get over the top but as a former insurance agent I just wanted to provide a PSA to take a good look at your policy again should you only have a street car policy.  Many people have found a loophole basically allowing for a HPDE or autocross to be covered on many of their policies because they are not racing.  I always review my policies and I have found that Allstate's current policy now reads as follows:

"Exclusions (11) Property damage arising out of the participation in any prearranged, organized, or spontaneous
a) racing contest
b) speed contest; or
c) use of an auto
at a track or course designed or used for racing or high performance driving
, or in practice or preparation for any contest or use of this type"

Please note the bolded section.  The short version is if you are at a HPDE, a track day, even parade laps on a track, OR at an autocross (hence the "course designed for hp driving", they will deny your claim.  I don't have a copy of my old GEICO policy to confirm this change there, but IIRC theirs was just as strict in the past as this is now. 

If you think you can argue it good luck, having worked for one of the big ones, and knowing people who still work there, you aren't going to win.  Just something to keep in mind fellas.

Tom Lomino - Proud to be a 23x Lemons Loser, 3x Class B, and 1x IOE Winner!
Craptain, Team Farfrumwinnin - 1995 Volkswagen Golf #14
Click here to "Like" us on Facebook   Click here for our Youtube Videos
Lifetime Achievement (of hopelessness) Award Winners

Re: People who track their street cars/HPDE come in here

That's new, isn't it?  I thought the HPDE loophole was the reason that some HPDE groups were so adamantly opposed to doing lap timing or even having a data recorder in the car.  If there is no timing, then it is not a "timed competition event", and so was just a drive on the parkway.

Jim C.