Topic: Cook County P71 -- With just $500 and a Fraternity

So, I'm a Computer Engineering student at IIT in Chicago. Being an engineering school, my friends are also engineering students. Most of us really like building stuff, and some of us really like cars.

So, after watching the Roadkill episode about the race, me and the guy I was watching it had a conversation something like this:

"Hm, I wonder if we could field a team"
"Well, we are in a fraternity full of engineering students... so we have that going for us"
"Yeah, let's do it"

We asked around, and got 9 guys from the house who were interested, and, throwing caution to the wind, started scouring the public surplus auctions for some choice piece of Victoria's Crown.

We found it in one 2003 P71 with 181k miles, paid exactly $500 for it, and picked it up off possibly the most poorly managed lot ever. It started with a jump, but kept dying until we put a new battery in it (does that battery count towards car cost? Please say no). After the battery swap, it's running fine, we drove it something like 50 miles back to our shop.

Now we're in possession of this car, we have about a year to get it ready for our target race of Oct 2015 at Joliet.

Our first step was to purchase a seat for the race. It's a fiberglass seat, but it has no markings from any safety agency. Is it kosher? (On a hilarious side note, we bought it at a doctors office... for some reason 'Dr. Brandon' was selling them out of his x-ray room.)

Any guidance from experienced racers, or just people who aren't 18-22 year old imbeciles is greatly appreciated.

Re: Cook County P71 -- With just $500 and a Fraternity

I want to post some links to videos of us buying the car and driving it back, but it looks like I need a post count > 2.

To test that theory, here's post #2

Here's my buddy winning the bid

Here's the adventure to go pick up the car off the lot