Topic: My first Lemons build - What am I screwing up?

Hello!  I've been reading through the forum for a while, meaning to build a car for a East Coast race for a few years now, so I figured this is as good (bad?) of a time as any, so here it goes.  I'm new to the 24 HOL series, but I have some experience on cars - just not on as limited of a budget.  Other project/fun cars I own are an '89 Jeep Wranger, '82 Caprice, '67 Chevelle SS396 and a '79 Honda Civic CVCC.  The Jeep and Caprice went from daily drivers (now I drive a '08 Honda Fit) to project/fun cars, but keeping a 20+ year old carbureted vehicle in running shape so I can get to work the next morning gave me enough practice in most repairs.  I've seen other build threads (namely the '50 Dodge Pickup) on here asking questions and posting statuses, so I figured I'd do the same.  I'll also include the budget, the build cost (both exempt and non-exempt) so maybe this thread will help others in the future who start out in Lemons.  Or maybe not. 

The Car:
http://i332.photobucket.com/albums/m343/JonathanJorda/1971%20Fiat%20124%20Sport%20Coupe/2014-05-08_17-51-24_236_zps2db93f7f.jpg
The process started when a '71 Fiat Sport Coupe showed up on this site a few months back.  Judge Phil said "This car must race in Lemons", so I figured it would be a pretty good starting point.  My wife gave me somewhat of approval (or maybe I just took it as approval) and talked it over with a few other people to form a team - and had the car towed up to my house.  For being a '71, it had some pretty exotic stuff - DOHC motor, 4-wheel disc brakes, 5-speed transmission - almost experimental stuff back then.  Hopefully it proves reliable. 

The Budget: