Topic: New Pathfinder for tow vehicle?

The lease is up on my much loved Kia Sportage and I've decided to spring for something that can tow. Anyone driving and towing with a late model Pathfinder? Amongst the mid-size SUV's it has pretty amazing tow capacity (7000 lbs).

Things to know:

Our car/trailer combo weight is 3280 lb (when connected to hitch..so it may be a little more)
We tend to drive 6+ hours for all of our races and I'd like to pile all 4 of us in one vehicle that can handle 4 200+ lb guys, gear and towing.
I don't want a Tahoe, Durango, Exhibition, etc
I am an urban driver who hits 10k/year on a heavy year so gas mileage, city parking, size, etc are priorities
Bluetooth- i Love the bluetooth in my Kia. Anyone have experience with and love/hate the Pathfinder Bluetooth call/phonebook/music/siri functionally?

Thanks for your thoughts

organizer's choice 2011 Can't Git Bayou
judge's choice 2014 'Shine Country Classic
actually started AND finished a race 2014 Gator-O-Rama

Re: New Pathfinder for tow vehicle?

First question, where are you getting the towing capacity? The most recent version of it has a 5000 lb capacity according to the nissan website and edmunds: http://www.edmunds.com/nissan/pathfinde … mp;sub=suv It does say may require special equipment, which may be a weight distributing hitch FYI.

That is fine, since you say your trailer weights 3280. If we assume you had the high end of the recomended tongue weight (15%), that puts the total weight at  3858. Still within your tow capacity. that puts tongue weight at 580. Pretty dam close to the 600lb hitch rating... not so good

Then you have 4 200 lb guys, so there is 800, plus lests say 200lb of gear. total is now 1000 lbs. then you add the tongue weight in, and you are at 1580 lbs of load on the suspension. Your maximum payload is 1500 lbs...

Probably not the best vehicle to use if you are gonna put 4 guys in there. if it was 1 or two people you could probably get away with it.