Topic: $500 car?

It seems there is a progression.  It seems like cars that are $500 ones in their first race become $1000 in their second and $1500 in their third.  Money spent on 'repairs' is actually money spent on upgrades.  Am I right?

I don't really know but clearly some money must be spent on a $500 car to get it fit for race 2.  And isn't this money additive to the first $500?

Forgive me, I'm an accountant...and kind of literal.  Are we talking about a $500 car or a car that seems like $500?

“Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.”

Re: $500 car?

In the rules is section 4.8 residual value.  Basically send a note to Nick and they tell you what the car is worth.

Team Apex Vinyl: 1977 Toyota Truck
Gator-O-Rama 2009 Dangerous Banned Technology
Yee-Haw 2011 Index Of Effluency
Gator-O-Rama 2012 I Got Screwed

Squidbreath, the car is literally supposed to be $500 as raced aside from safety gear.  Car's with more potential like Miatas and E30 BMWs get more scrutiny than cars with less potential like a Fiat, Pacer, Gremlin and so on.

After the first race, the car can have a residual, say $350.  That means you have $150 budget to work with.  If you have reaming parts you can use as Scavenger sales, you may sell that stuff off to help with the budget too.

The $500 is supposed to literally be $500 aside from items which are considered safety.  There is a lot of required and necessary safety equipment to get a car race ready.

Troy

#35 LRE
1973 Datsun 240Z

Residual value is kinda hard to figure. For example, our Miata would carry a higher residual value than our MX6 would, for good reason. The Miata seems to stay reliable and ready to race, and given a $500 per race budget, it would get pretty damned fast, and defiantly cheaty. We stick to the budget honestly, and for the next race we are changing the oil and brake pads. We are also painting a new theme, all of that mess with still be under $100.