Topic: Parts car cost in budget?

Ok, so I know that I can sell items off the race car to offset my budget, but can I do the same with a parts car?

For example, I need a wiget (engine, transmission, steering rack, whatever).  Can I sell off the non-exept items off of the parts car (Radio, alternator, interior, etc) to get the widget for free?  Now, I am not trying to use the parts car to offset the racecar (strip the car and add $x into my budget, I am just trying to get free/low cost parts smile

Oh. And no, I am not a professional dismantler smile

Re: Parts car cost in budget?

spares are kind of a grey area. The by the book way it works is like this. After each race you're supposed to ask for a residual value on the car, and then that is what you can spend to fix/upgrade. Residual value should reflect what is broken. So if you toast an engine, maybe your value is $100 and you have $400 to find a new one. Then you can play the budget game of buying a parts car, selling a lot of it, and showing you got the drive train for $100 all said and done. Document it all and at the next race you can prove to the judges that you're under budget.

However, If you blow a motor at the track, no one comes stopping you from swapping in a spare until you prove your budget, you just plow ahead and try to win that heroic fix. So keeping a spare motor, trans, hubs, suspension, etc in your trailer never gets another thought. With the huge exception that if you swap out for a clearly cheated up high dollar built engine, someone's going to raise an eyebrow. That said, preemptively gathering spares is very common, and encouraged. Grab your parts car, take the parts you need, sell the rest, keep that documentation on how you got them just in case.