1 (edited by estomax 2023-05-03 11:23 AM)

Topic: Another racing seat / fitment question

Hey Guys,

First time Lemons newbie here, and first time racing seat purchase newbie too. I cannot for the life of me find any good guides online for how a racing seat should fit. Everyone says it should be tight but comfortable to spend a long time in, but I can't figure out where the harness holes in the back should be with regards to my shoulders or if the halo side protectors should be above my face or below my face.

I found a seat locally on craigslist and went to check it out, it was real snug, but maybe workable. I felt really giant in it though. This is a Momo 1077BLK seat. https://www.summitracing.com/parts/mom-1077blk

Being Lemons, i am trying to be cheap and not spend a grand on a seat, but safety is important and we are splitting it five ways so i am willing to swallow my pride and buy new if i have to.

A video of me sitting in this one, i am the tallest/biggest person on the team, so if it fits me, it will fit the smaller guys too, thats why i am using myself as the yardstick. I had a video taken and would like your feedback, where should the harness holes reach to with regards to shoulders and where should the halo hoops be with regards to my head. Right now my shoulders are two inches above the bottom of the harness hole and my head looks over the halo hoops.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/2W2mXwpi25th6bzNA

Thanks for your 2 cents everyone and see you all in October in Shelton, WA!
Marko

Re: Another racing seat / fitment question

I've only got one of those pennies that the train ran over when I was twelve. That said, my rules of thumb:

The shoulder belts shouldn't touch the seat holes on the top or the bottom.

What this means is a person can be too small for a seat because the belts are restraining the seat, not the person.

It's easier to make someone bigger with seat inserts than it is to make the seat bigger or a person smaller.

That guy