Topic: Are S197 Mustang GTs too cheaty?

Hey folks.
Not quite a newbie here, but new to starting a build from scratch.
I have a theme in mind that requires a 2005-2007 mustang. I thought v6 would pass BS. But now I may be able to buy a 4.6 for $5000. I can't count enough parts to sell to get close to $500 from there.

Any thoughts on how BS would go? Is anyone ever outright turned away?
How raceworthy are those GTs compared to V6s?

Thanks!

Re: Are S197 Mustang GTs too cheaty?

Mur wrote:

Hey folks.
Not quite a newbie here, but new to starting a build from scratch.
I have a theme in mind that requires a 2005-2007 mustang. I thought v6 would pass BS. But now I may be able to buy a 4.6 for $5000. I can't count enough parts to sell to get close to $500 from there.

Any thoughts on how BS would go? Is anyone ever outright turned away?
How raceworthy are those GTs compared to V6s?

Thanks!

As far as I have experienced, no car is turned away. You'll just get penalty laps based on an entirely subjective valuation of your car. Don't sweat it. Do the thing and have fun.

That guy

Agree with Dirty. Build what you want, build to the spirit of the $500 rule, and have fun. Will you likely get laps? Highly probable. But if you can sell off a LOT of items (e.g. entire interior, AC system, parts not needed, etc) and get super close to $500, you'll be fine. Now, if you show up in a brand new Porsche Cayman GT4 and want to race with a a bunch of idiots in cheap cars...sure, go for it...but you'll likely get something like 500 Brazilian penalty laps.

Jeremy
Racecar: '93 Mustang GT, stock, Lemons prepped, PITA - https://www.facebook.com/PrincessButtercupRacing, Soon-To-Be Racecar: '95 318ti
DD: '21 Jeep Wrangler
Fun vehicle: '13 Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster