1 (edited by Lemon_Newton-Metre 2023-11-27 08:41 PM)

Topic: My E46 Lemons candidate - 2000 323i auto, 189k mi.: Scrapped for $500

https://i.postimg.cc/W34HwTXv/20230705-184318.jpg

B.L.U.F.:Umm ... (I'm not a mechanic) head gasket? Think this is still a reasonable Lemons candidate, based on this, plus the sill rust previously mentioned in a different thread?

Picture is from sitting, not running, after 3 min. driving about 1.6 mi., so it was still cool. It has been taking about 1/3 gallon coolant each trip to-and-from work for the last week, about 38 mi. which takes about an hour. The above was after a short trip to get some distilled water to put into it.

The temp needle doesn't get beyond a smidge past verticle the whole trip.

So yes, clear title, registered, and insured. Regardless,  needs additional work for inspection.

I have other candidates, but each has issues to address; so I'm just trying to see if this is still in the running.

I'm looking to thin the herd eventually, but I haven't decided on a direction yet.

Based on the limited research I've done, I see cooling system overhaul kits available. This might be a BMW thing.

As an auctioned impound vehicle, I have no idea the background of this car. But, it has gotten me to and from work for a week, with relatively little concern and expense so far. And 1/3 gallon water after each trip is an amount that - if it stays that way - I can accept for this purpose.

Not for racing, of course.

Thoughts?

Re: My E46 Lemons candidate - 2000 323i auto, 189k mi.: Scrapped for $500

You can do a leak down test. It requires a special tool. Advanced Auto may let you borrow it. I'm guessing a head gasket issue. When you drive it does it have whitish smoke coming out the tail pipe? Also check you oil for water, For BMW advice, I'd go here. https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/3-series-4-series.5/

"get up and get your grandma outta here"