Topic: Running a spool in rear diff

Just curious if anyone runs a spool in their car. The Atlanta race will be my third Lemons race, first as the car owner. We have a 2000 v6 mustang that has done 4 races so far. The car actually has done well at Barber and Nola for our experience. I really noticed at Nola the open diff wasn’t the best option. I would assume a limited slip would be best but wanted some opinions on a spool. I have ran a spool in my old f100 and it sucks in the rain, but has drag radials. I’m new to the road course racing scene so any input is appreciated, thanks.

Re: Running a spool in rear diff

Putting a spool in a road race car would be hilarious, in a bad way... If you want to have premature failure of wheel bearings, axle shafts, insane tire wear, and have your car skipping over the tires on every corner to the point where you're spinning out regularly, then by all means put in a spool...

You want a limited slip diff, of which there are a hundred options, running from junkyard takeouts (ford explorer 8.8 31 spline LSD is common and readily available in junkyards for cheap in the spirit of Lemons), to high performance racing specific ones.

Diffs are one of those things that are "unseen" in the car, like your camshafts, or hydramat in your fuel tank. Cheaty teams all spend freely on those things because no judge is going to ask to put a scope cam in your diff housing, and it's really not going to make you any faster.

1989 Merkur XR4Ti: Project Merkur Space Program - Wins: Class C - Colonel and the Sinkhole 2023 | "Heroic Fix" The Pitt Maneuver 2023 | "Halloween Meets Gasoline" The Pitt Maneuver 2022
1980 Dodge Challenger: Most Extreme eLemonAtion Challenger (Rust Belt Ramble 2021 Dishonorable Mention)

I've driven the same car on a racetrack with and without welded spider gears.

If you are cornering hard enough to spin the inside tire, then a spool will improve drive out of the corner. If not, don't bother.