Topic: BALLS!!!

Any objections to stiffening up coil springs with tennis balls?  While I could understand an objection based on the possibility of a loose ball bouncing across the track, I think the red-neck engineering aspect is inkeeping with the spirit of the event enough to override posible safety concerns.  But, it doesn't matter what I think, what do the Tech Enforcers think?

Re: BALLS!!!

I'm no engineer but I wonder if a coil spring loaded up with tennis balls and a means to keep them there for a 14 hour endurance race would a. hold up and b. make any noticable difference on the spring rate.  Color me curious.

Greg
Team Skid Steer
Bullitt Bobcat 2.0

an old rallycross trick is to stick thick pieces of rubber in between a couple coils to increase the spring rates.....I was going to do the same, but I intend to use some steel hose clamps or heavy duty zip ties to hold them in place...

I've seen quite a few drag racers use cheap leather footballs from Wal-Mart...

The Spanish Armada
'51 DeSoto, car #1539: Featuring authentic 16th century engineering

I'm certain that a saw a photo on Jalopnik from a recent race with tennis balls stuffed in the springs of one of the larger cars... I think it was even a car that finished.

Lemons South 2008 - Fail, Lemons South Spring 2009 - Fail, Lemons Detroit(ish) 2008 - Fail, Lemons South Fall 2009 - Fail, Lamest Day 2009 - Fail, Miami 2010 (Chump) - 2nd!, Sebring 2010 (Chump) - Fail, Cuba 2010 - Crew Chief, Roebling 2011 (Chump) - 8th!, Sebring 2011(Chump) - 19th!

Real, full coil, spring rubbers can be had cheap - like $10.

--Rob Leone Schumacher Taxi Service
We won the IOE at Southern Discomfort.
We got screwed at The Real Hoopties of New Jersey  and we took cars down with us.
We got the curse at Capitol Offense but they wouldn't let us destroy the car.

Loren wrote: