Topic: Chopping Corners

I've only driven in one Lemons race before (was all set to drive at Dallas, but the car blew up before I got in the seat), and other than that I've been to one day long "bring your own car" driving course at a track.  Needless to say I'm a very inexperienced racing driver.

I was wondering if someone could explain what chopping a corner means.  I've seen mentions of it in the rules and on the forums but I'm not sure I really know what it means.  From what little I know about driving you're supposed to get as wide as possible when entering a turn and then aim to have your inside tire hit the very inside of the corner at the apex, then drift back to the outside as you exit.  Is that considered chopping the corner if there's someone behind and inside of you?

Re: Chopping Corners

If you move into someone elses line it's considered chopping. 

If you are entering a right hand turn - you are on the outside but a car noses along side of you on the inside.  If you then try to take the apex, you would chop down on them because you should have yielded the corner to avoid contact.  Same thing on corner exit - if you hit the apex but are approaching a slower car -  If you track out and force them to brake or go off track to avoid hitting you, then you chopped them.

--Rob Leone Schumacher Taxi Service
We won the IOE at Southern Discomfort.
We got screwed at The Real Hoopties of New Jersey  and we took cars down with us.
We got the curse at Capitol Offense but they wouldn't let us destroy the car.

3 (edited by RobL 2010-07-15 08:42 AM)

You can see me kind of get chopped in the beginnig of this vid: http://vimeo.com/9434306 The red CRX should have stayed to the inside of the corner. 
I did not chop him back - he was already going 4 off and I take a normal line through the corner.  If he had not gone 4 off, that would have been considered a chop.  And a total chop on our part at 4:06.  We left the car no where to go.