Topic: Newbie cage question !!

Hi there ! I am registered to hopefully race at Chicago 10/23-10/24. I have a 93 ford probe, that I have installed a cage in. However , reading some of the forums I now have concerns about how my halo bar attaches to my main hoop. When I installed the cage I believed it to be overkill in safety. I am a taller driver and this design gives me a couple extra inches of headroom . I am attaching a picture of the design I used. Can you tell me if this will pass tech. I'd hate to have to fix it on raceday.

Is there someone I can email directly regarding this?

Thanks for the help!
http://sz0095.ev.mail.comcast.net/servi … amp;part=2

Re: Newbie cage question !!

Can you host that picture somewhere else?  It's attached to an email on a private server... 

Otherwise, feel free to send some pics to me - rob_leone@verizon.net - and I'll take a look at it.

--Rob Leone Schumacher Taxi Service
We won the IOE at Southern Discomfort.
We got screwed at The Real Hoopties of New Jersey  and we took cars down with us.
We got the curse at Capitol Offense but they wouldn't let us destroy the car.

Sorry for the bad link! Still trying to learn how to attach photos. I just emailed it to you ! Thank you !

4 (edited by RobL 2010-08-12 04:33 AM)

This is the cage:

https://www.lefthanderchassis.com/productimages/001356.jpg

I let him know that as presented (I don't know what else is in the kit)
The halo hoop needs to connect to main hoop differently (welded directly to it)
The door bars need to connect to the front uprights directly
Kit needs a diagonal, rear stay bars, and mounting plates.
What does the "telescoping" a-pillar post mean?  That piece needs to be one piece of material.
and in the description it says the tubes are "notched" together not welded.  I don't know what that means but all the tubes need to be 360 welded to each other.