Topic: Starting a college club for Lemons racing, need advice!

Hey guys! Just want to introduce myself. I'm a sophomore in college who's been following Lemons ever since I read about it way back in the February 2007 Car and Driver article. After years of thinking about trying it, it seems to be time to try to enter a race for real.

I think it would be really cool to get a team off the ground by forming a club for it. I've found a wide range of people interested in forming a team at my school for a race, from mechanical engineering majors on our formula SAE team to art students. Everybody's willing to pay club dues to fund the project, and once a club gets serious enough at Wash U the student union funds it really well. Between all of us, we've got most of the tools and a place to work on and store the car. Would it be frowned upon that our car would be funded by a college club instead of just privately?

My biggest question is about cost. I've searched through these forums, and I've seen estimates for a new team's first-race costs to be anything from $5000-$20,000. What would be an accurate estimate for a team doing the bare (hee hee) minimum to compete safely? For our first outing, we're not concerned about winning, or even finishing for that matter, we just want to make it to the track and have fun! We don't want to skimp at all on safety equipment, but we're okay with doing stuff like renting a U-haul with a car trailer instead of getting a professional hauler.

As far as a getting a car (not to get ahead of ourselves), I love seeing all the unusual stuff running in the index of effluency that I read about on Jalopnik, but I'd like to start with something new team friendly like a Volvo 240 or a Crown Vic. I've always loved Volvos, so I'd hope to start out with something like this:

http://stlouis.craigslist.org/cto/2152225686.html

I've got to do something crazy before I get out of college!