Topic: Is there a list of current and past team names available?

So I'm a rookie forming a new team and we're wanting to come up with a clever but original team name, key word, original.  We'd like to avoid coming up with a name that we think is original only to find it's been used before.  If there's a comprehensive list available somewhere (or as comprehensive as reasonably possible), ideally either in alphabetical order or in a spreadsheet we could download and sort into alphabetical order or do keyword searches on, that would be great.  Or if in no particular order, then at least in a format that would be relatively easy to copy and paste into a spreadsheet for sorting and searching purposes would be good.  Does anything like that exist?

Wholly Shift Racing
(Randy Pobst wrecked our Ghostbusters car!)

2 (edited by DirtyDuc 2023-07-15 07:22 PM)

Re: Is there a list of current and past team names available?

I guess it depends on whether you plan on keeping your team name.

I'm sure a mostly comprehensive list exists in the back of the Lemons database, but there's no guarantee you aren't repeating due to the early years.

I don't bother with continuity (because it's boring), so I change team names mostly every race. Most of the obvious team names have probably been done at least once over the years.

But something like "Dale's lost cousins pining in the fields of backmarkers" sounds funny to me. Do a Lexus luxo-barge with some random NASCAR theme...

That guy

91badger wrote:

So I'm a rookie forming a new team and we're wanting to come up with a clever but original team name, key word, original.  [snip]

Pretty sure you can run an idea past Eric Rood and he'd be able to tell you.

I'm also pretty sure Lemons won't bother enforcing copyright law except for their own property - that'd be the province of the copyright owner.

Many users here have their team name in their sig; you can do some looking. Also event results and entry lists.

I'll suggest this: